The Day Inspiration Struck Me ::

Daily Prompt : 

Tell us about a time you’d been trying to solve a knotty problem — maybe it was an interpersonal problem, a life problem, a big ol’ problem — and you had a moment of clarity when the solution appeared to you, as though you were struck by lightening.

First I wouldn’t say it was a problem but I can remember a moment in 2012 when I was hit by “lightning”.  Since I was 19, when I decided I wanted to write, I had been trying to figure out what I wanted to write a novel over.  I have had many idea’s through the last few years and was never able to put the thoughts onto paper.  In 2012 I was a step away from deciding that maybe – maybe – I am not supposed to write and was nearly ready to stop trying.

November 30, 2012 (yes, I can remember the date & place) I was sitting on my brothers couch visiting him and his wife when I felt like something hit me with what I was missing to finally write a novel.  The story played through my mind like a movie.  Frame by frame – perfectly.  After finally coming back to reality I quickly left – not sure that I even said bye. I took off home (running across the street, I didn’t have far to go) and sat down at my laptop and for six hours, into December 1st, I wrote out the plan of the story.  How it would start, what would happen throughout it, and how it would end.   When I finished the outline I felt like I had accomplished something without actually accomplishing anything.  I knew, from that day on, I’d have a rocky path ahead of me.  Everyone’s first book is usually a long process and it can take a couple years.  

I made myself a goal – one I sadly didn’t meet – that I would be completely done with the first draft a year after I started writing the book.  I’m not sure if that was unrealistic, but I wanted that.  However, now that it’s been a year and I am still working on the first draft I have accepted that.  Not saying I honestly like it, but I’m okay with it.  I suppose you cannot rush greatness!  Eh.  

Right now as I sit here typing this I have wrote the beginning and the end.  The middle is giving me problems.  My sandwich isn’t coming together very well – I am missing the bologna.  Right now I have a dry cheese sandwich and I’m needing the rest.  I’m on chapter twelve and I’m stuck.  But I will finish this book.  I have faith in myself.  Especially now that I have accepted and decided that I need to write this for myself and not everyone else.  This book is for me.

2 thoughts on “The Day Inspiration Struck Me ::

Leave a Reply

