Daily Prompt : Live to Eat

Today’s Daily Prompt is called Live to Eat.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to write this, but I will give it a shot.

Some people eat to live, while others live to eat. What about you? How far would you travel for the best meal of your life?

I remember a time where I could actually answer this question that I live to eat.  That every moment of the day I was wondering what I would eat next.  That everything in my life revolved around food.  I remember, when I lived in Marietta the first time, I sat in the kitchen in front of the ice box and anything I could reach I ate.  I didn’t chew it.  Just shoveled it into my face and swallowed.

Food is one of my issues, always has been.

I used to call myself an emotional eater, but it began getting farther away than that.  Emotional eaters eat when they are sad, mad, extremely happy.  I didn’t have to be sad.  Mad.  I did it because it was there and I didn’t have anything else to do.  Is boredom eater such a thing?  Or is that still emotional eater?

As the years pass I have slowly come up from the depths of issue eating.  I still have my issues, and I think I always will.  I do find myself, even to this day, thinking about food constantly.  It’s not that I want to, but it’s something I cannot get a grasp on.  I know it’s possible.  I know a person can go from this state to knowing better and doing better.  I’m just not sure how long it’s going to take me to do it.

Sadly, the only way I can find that I can get over this is to have no food in my house and only buy it for the moments that I need to eat.  But is that honestly anybody than having the issue to begin with?

I will one day get passed it.  Find a way that I am not always fighting with food.  Finally be able to put the guns away and use a fork and knife instead.  One day I’ll be able to look at food and it not look like a three headed devil beast drooling out of the mouth.    Until then I’ll find a way not to die from a heart attack.  I’ll find a way to look at food  and not wonder to myself “is this going to fill me up?” and know for sure it will fill me up.

How far would I go to get the best meal of my life?  I’m not sure if I would.  I have some really good food in my 25 years of living.  Although, I’d love to go have pasta in Italy, or a Philly cheese steak from Philly.  Other than that?  Probably as far as my kitchen because I’m one hell of a cook.  There lies another issue with food I have.  I’m a good cook so as I’m cooking it I’m eating it.  Then, I eat again.  Maybe I should start cooking horribly.  That might fix my issue all together.

One thought on “Daily Prompt : Live to Eat

Leave a Reply

