Maybe it’s fate…

I decided that I would try & take my job a little further.  Instead of just sitting at a desk in front of computers I wanted to try & go out for supervisor.  I filled out the application, got an interview – thought I done really well.  I dressed nice.  Took out my tongue ring.  Fixed my hair.  Done my make up.  Showed up nearly fifteen minutes early.  Spoke in complete sentences.  Never said ‘uh’, ‘but’, or paused for a really long time.  I really believed I had a shot.  Apparently, I did something stupid.  Or something.  I’m not sure.  They don’t tell things like that.  I went to work Saturday & in my box was a rejection letter :

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for applying for the position.  But right now, you suck.

Boo you!

Peace.

Signed,
Your Boss.

Is that honestly what it said?  Of course not.

Ever since I got the rejection I’ve been trying to think of reasons why it’s a good thing.  I couldn’t really think of any.  I really, really wanted that job.  Bad.  I haven’t wanted something that bad in a while.  Except one thing.

…to finish my story.

Maybe that’s why I didn’t get it.  & even if it’s not true.  But what a thought.. didn’t get something like that & then get a burst of inspiration for my story?  Think about it.  Everyone says that everything happens for a reason.  Maybe.. just maybe… I didn’t get the job because ‘fate’ wants me to finish my story once & for all.

Will it happen?

I really hope so.

Leave a Reply

